Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Aastcs
Casual Contributor

BPDdaughter

Hi, I am new to this & I’m looking for ways to help my daughter. She was diagnosed with BPD  6 months ago after being hospitalised for the first & only time after many breakdowns/outbursts at home. Most of it during the day while my husband & I was at work & had no idea this was going on. She had her boyfriend at our house during the day & the arguing & disagreements would result in the use of abusive language & yelling which we witnessed one evening while watching TV. We tried to stop the argument & we were yelled at not to come near her & to leave her alone. She’s been on medication for the past 6 months which have been changed by more being added to it since she was diagnosed. She had to leave her job approximately 18 months ago due to anxiety & depression from a previous relationship when she lived away from home. She’s been seeing a Psychologist on a weekly basis & have seen a Psychiatrist as well over the past 3 months. She will not discuss anything with myself & her dad. She pass comments like she’s been unhappy all her life & the child in all the family photos is not her. Over the past 4 weeks she’s started smashing things at home. When we ask if she’d like to talk to us she replies that she’s ok. When she have an episode & we leave work to be home , she’s not happy that we did this. We both work full time. Recently after a “ bad day” ( in her words) she would leave home & just tell us that she’s staying the night at a friend’s place. We have no idea & we would not dare ask who or where as she has cut off a lot of her friends since her diagnosis. I am wondering if I should take extended leave from my job to