Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Soliques
New Contributor

I’m New To Sane

Hi everyone,

I’m new to SANE and I wanted to seize this opportunity to quickly introduce myself, as well as paint a picture of my mental illnesses. 

I’m a twenty-something year old female and I have been diagnosed with General Anxiety Disorder, Panic Disorder, Social Anxiety, Depression and Borderline Personality Disorder. I have also been diagnosed as infertile. I moved out of my parents’ home at the age of nineteen and rented a house with my boyfriend—we still live together. 

I am feeling overwhelmed with life at the minute. Since completing my Bachelor in Counselling in 2016, I have failed to find a job due to my anxiety (and possibly my BPD too?). I have never been career-focused and always pictured my future as a stay at home mum. Except, since being diagnosed with infertility, the possibility of being a stay at mum home mum anytime soon is unlikely. I am currently waiting for an appointment to see my OBGYN to discuss further fertility treatment (IVF). 

Since being unable to find a job and being unable to have children (yet) I am finding it very difficult to find purpose. At the end of the day, you either have a successful career or a stay at home parent, right? Well, I can’t do either, apparently. I feel like I am a pathetic excuse for a human being and I am wasting valuable space on Earth. 

Basically, I am feeling overwhelmed and I don’t really know what to do anymore. 

4 REPLIES 4

Re: I’m New To Sane

Welcome to the forum @Soliques There are great people here and we all have our different struggles.

Smiley Happy